contact_support
Freiwilligenprojekt zum Schutz der Sonnenbären, Malaysia
Freiwilligenprojekt zum Schutz der Sonnenbären, Malaysia

Borneo, Malaysia

Freiwilligenprojekt zum Schutz der Sonnenbären, Malaysia

Trip Highlights

  • Volunteer for Sun-Bear Conservation Center in Malaysia
  • Learn more about the animals, their lives and how to conserve their natural habitat
  • Volunteers contribute in construction and renovation work, animal care, habitat conservation efforts and welfare 
  • Volunteers work for some of the smallest bears in the world 
  • Volunteers work on weekdays, weekends are free to explore around the country with fellow volunteers

Overview

Overview

Volunteering Solutions bietet eine erstaunliche Gelegenheit für kurzfristige Freiwilligenarbeit in Malaysia, bei der Sie 2 Wochen in einem Sun Bear Conservation Centre verbringen können.

Das Sun Bear Conservation Center liegt etwa 19 km von der Stadt Sandakan entfernt. Das Zentrum verfügt derzeit über 2 Bärenhäuser, in denen 28 Bären untergebracht sind, sowie über 1,14 Hektar Naturwaldgehege, in dem die Bären tagsüber (und nachts) frei herumlaufen können. Als Freiwilliger für dieses Programm müssen Sie sich um die kleinsten Bären der Welt kümmern, daran arbeiten, ihre Höhlen zu reinigen und eine Bereicherung der Umwelt und der Nahrung zu schaffen.Neben der Bereicherung der Lebensbedingungen der Sonnenbären erfahren Sie mehr über Sonnenbären in den Stadien der Rehabilitation und den Prozess ihrer Wiederauswilderung.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Einheimischen ermöglicht es Ihnen, unsere malaysische Kultur zu erleben und zu verstehen. Sie haben auch Zeit, um die wunderschöne Umgebung von Sepilok und die nahe gelegenen Städte und Naturschutzgebiete zu erkunden.

Dieses Projekt ist perfekt für Studenten und Rucksacktouristen und gibt Ihnen internationale Arbeitserfahrung aus erster Hand und gibt Ihnen einen Einblick, wie diese Tiere erhalten und gepflegt werden. Es wird eine unglaubliche Gelegenheit für Sie sein, die Situation von in Gefangenschaft/Rehabilitation lebenden Sonnenbären und solchen mit bedrohten Lebensräumen zu verstehen und zu vergleichen sowie das Bewusstsein für verantwortungsvolles Leben und Reisen unter Touristen, der lokalen Gemeinschaft und Studenten zu schärfen.


Program Requirements

Program Requirements

Freiwillige müssen zum Zeitpunkt der Teilnahme am Projekt 18 Jahre oder älter sein. Sie müssen aufgeschlossen und flexibel sein, um in einer neuen und anderen Umgebung zu arbeiten. Der Freiwillige sollte Energie und Enthusiasmus mitbringen, um etwas zu bewirken. Die Teilnehmer müssen zum Zeitpunkt des Eintritts in das Programm fit und gesund sein. Jeder Freiwillige muss vor der Teilnahme am Programm einen Impfnachweis gegen Covid 19, Hepatitis A & B und ein ärztliches Attest vorlegen, aus dem hervorgeht, dass der Freiwillige frei von Tuberkulose ist (Ergebnisse müssen weniger als 1 Jahr nach dem Projektdatum datiert sein). Es findet ein Skype-Interview statt und erst nach der Auswahl wird Ihre Bewerbung bestätigt. Falls Sie nicht für die Teilnahme an dem betreffenden Programm ausgewählt werden, erhalten Sie eine vollständige Rückerstattung.


Volunteer Roles & Responsibilities

Volunteer Roles & Responsibilities

Als Freiwillige/r im Conservation Centre musst du folgende Aufgaben erledigen:

Tierhaltung - Dies beinhaltet das Reinigen der Käfige und das Füttern der Bären. Sie arbeiten abwechselnd mit verschiedenen Sonnenbären, je nach den Bedürfnissen der Bären. Sie dürfen nicht täglich mit Sonnenbären arbeiten. Einige tägliche Wartungsarbeiten wie allgemeine Wartungsarbeiten (z. B. Lackieren) können enthalten sein.

Anreicherung - Die Idee der Anreicherung besteht darin, die Tiere zu stimulieren und ihre Lebensbedingungen so weit wie möglich zu verbessern, um ihnen etwas zu bieten, das ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum näher kommt. Freiwillige werden an der Gestaltung und Vorbereitung der Anreicherungsverfahren beteiligt sein. Anschließend wird die Wirkung der Enrichment Items auf das Verhalten der Tiere beobachtet.

Konstruktion- Als Freiwilliger werden Sie möglicherweise gebeten, kleine Bauprojekte zu entwerfen und daran mitzuarbeiten, um die Nachthöhlen/Gehege ausgewählter Tiere zu verbessern. Dies kann die Unterstützung beim Bau neuer Ausstellungen und Erweiterungen zur Verbesserung der Einrichtungen des Konservierungszentrums oder die Verbesserung bestehender Ausstellungen durch Hinzufügen von Möbeln / Gemälden umfassen.

Bildung - Im Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre gibt es ein Bildungszentrum und eine Bibliothek. Freiwillige können gebeten werden, mit Schulkindern und Besuchern des Zentrums über Sonnenbären und deren Erhaltung zu sprechen. Möglicherweise werden Sie auch gebeten, Anzeigen vorzubereiten und die Blogs zu aktualisieren oder Daten in den Bärenverhaltensbericht und den wöchentlichen Bericht einzugeben.

Hinweis: Nicht alle Aktivitäten sind in Ihrem Reiseplan enthalten. Änderungen der Aktivitäten unterliegen den Wetterbedingungen, dem Schulkalender, den Anforderungen der Gemeinde und des Projekts.


Schedule

Itinerary

Tag 1 - Ankunft am Flughafen Sandakan und Transfer zur Unterkunft. Treffen Sie alle Ihre Freiwilligenkollegen während des Willkommensdinners. An diesem Tag findet eine kurze Briefing Session statt.

Tag 2 - Transfer zum Borneo Sun Bear Conservation Centre. Orientierungssitzung, Details zum Ort, Sicherheitsrundgang durch das Zentrum.

Tag 3 bis Tag 13 - Projektarbeit im Zentrum. Arbeitszeiten: Von 8:00 bis 17:00 Uhr (mit dazwischenliegender Mittagspause).
An den Wochenenden haben Sie frei, um auf eigene Faust zu erkunden!

Tag 14 - Auschecken und Transfer zum Flughafen Sandakan.


Living

Living

Flughafentransfer

Der dem Projekt am nächsten gelegene Flughafen ist der Flughafen Sandakan (SDK), ein Inlandsflughafen. Daher müssen Sie Ihre Flüge zum internationalen Flughafen Kuala Lumpur (KLIA/KLIA2) oder zum internationalen Flughafen Kota Kinabalu buchen und dann einen weiteren Flug zum Flughafen Sandakan nehmen.

Genaue Flugdaten (Flugnummer, Fluggesellschaft, Abflugort, Abflug- und Ankunftszeit) sind entscheidend, um die Abholung zur richtigen Zeit sicherzustellen.

Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr Flug am Ankunftstag vor 16:00 Uhr ankommt, und buchen Sie am Abreisetag einen Flug, der nach 11:00 Uhr vom Flughafen Sandakan abfliegt.

Unterkunft

Sie erhalten eine Unterkunft im Schlafsaalstil, in der Sie sich ein Zimmer mit 2 anderen teilen müssen, meistens auf Basis des gleichen Geschlechts. Es gibt gemeinsame Warmwasserduschen und Toiletten. Eine Gemeinschaftsküche und einfache Kochgelegenheiten stehen zur Verfügung. Die Waschmaschine ist ebenfalls vorhanden.

Hinweis: Einzelzimmer nach Verfügbarkeit - bitte teilen Sie uns vorher mit, falls Sie ein Einzelzimmer für sich alleine wünschen.

Mahlzeiten

Alle Freiwilligen, die für dieses Projekt arbeiten, erhalten Essenszuschüsse.

Orientierung

Es wird eine detaillierte Programmorientierung geben, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, mehr über das Naturschutzzentrum und die dort durchgeführten Arbeiten zu erfahren. Sie werden auch angeleitet und angewiesen, wie Sie handeln müssen und wie Sie Ihre besten Dienste leisten können, während Sie Teil dieses Projekts sind. Unsere Koordinatoren stehen Ihnen rund um die Uhr zur Verfügung, um Ihnen jede Art von Unterstützung anzubieten, die Sie benötigen.

Während Ihrer Freizeit

In Ihrer Freizeit können Sie die Wildnis Borneos erkunden und einige Zeit damit verbringen, durch den Dschungel zu wandern. An den Wochenenden können Sie eine Wanderung nach Kota Kinabalu planen und die Unheimlichkeit der Regenwälder spüren.


Dates

Dates

2024

2025

January

05

February

05

March

05

April

05

May

05

June

05

July

05

August

05

September

05

October

05

November

05

December

05

January

05

February

05

March

05

April

05

May

05

June

05

July

05

August

05

September

05

October

05

November

05

December

Past Date

Available

Unavailable

Filling Fast


Costs

Costs

2 Weeks £1085

Please Note: -An application fee of £179 is charged over and above the program fee as an application payment.

What are you Paying for?

  • Informationen und Unterstützung vor der Abreise
  • Alle Einrichtungen und Geräte für die Arbeit im Zoo
  • Erhaltungsbeitrag zum Projekt
  • 4 Arbeits-T-Shirts
  • Alle Aktivitäten, Werkzeuge und Materialien, die in „Projekttagen“ enthalten sind
  • Einführung und Orientierung im Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Center
  • 13 Nächte in ausgewiesenen Gemeinschaftsunterkünften
  • Meet & Greet am Flughafen Sandakan (SDK), Malaysia
  • Ankunftstransfer vom Flughafen Sandakan zur Projektunterkunft
  • Transfer vom Wohnheim zur Unterkunft am Projektstandort
  • Abreisetransfer zum Flughafen Sandakan in Sabah, Malaysia
  • Willkommens-Abendessen am Ankunftstag in Sepilok
  • Verpflegungszuschuss für alle Projekttage wie im Reiseverlauf angegeben / Selbstverpflegung mit grundlegenden Kochgelegenheiten
  • Certificate Of Completion (Upon Request)

What's NOT included?

  • Internationaler Flugpreis
  • Visa Gebühren
  • Impfungen
  • Kranken- und Reiseversicherung
  • Etwaige Einzelzimmerzuschläge für die Unterkunft
  • Mahlzeiten und Unterkunft bei individueller Reise oder an freien Tagen
  • Persönliche Ausgaben

Reviews

Reviews

Apply Now Ask a Question

Frequently asked questions

FAQ's Application and Program Details

Flights and Visa

Health and Safety

Accommodation and Living

Still have Questions?

We're always here to help.

Get in touch whatever way works best for you.

contact_support
Sun Bear Conservation Volunteering Project, Malaysia
Sun Bear Conservation Volunteering Project, Malaysia

Borneo, Malaysia

Sun Bear Conservation Volunteering Project, Malaysia

Trip Highlights

  • Volunteer for Sun-Bear Conservation Center in Malaysia
  • Learn more about the animals, their lives and how to conserve their natural habitat
  • Volunteers contribute in construction and renovation work, animal care, habitat conservation efforts and welfare 
  • Volunteers work for some of the smallest bears in the world 
  • Volunteers work on weekdays, weekends are free to explore around the country with fellow volunteers

Overview

Overview

Volunteering Solutions offers an amazing Short-Term Volunteering opportunity in Malaysia, where you'll get to spend 2 weeks at a Sun Bear Conservation Centre.

The Sun Bear Conservation Center is based approximately 19 km from Sandakan town. The center currently has 2 bear houses that are housing 28 bears as well as 1.14 hectares of natural forest enclosure where the bears can roam free during the day (and night). As a volunteer for this program, you will need to get down and dirty taking care of the smallest bears in the world, working to clean their dens and creating environmental and food enrichment. In addition to enriching the sun bears living condition, you will learn about sun bears in the stages of rehabilitation and the process of releasing them back into the wild.

Working alongside local people will enable you to experience and understand our Malaysian culture. You will also have time off to explore the beautiful surroundings of Sepilok and nearby towns and wildlife sanctuaries.

Perfect for students and backpackers, this project will give you first-hand international work experience and let you gain an insight about how these animals are conserved and taken care of. It'll be an incredible opportunity for you to understand and compare the situation of captive/rehab sun bears and those with threatened habitats as well as raise awareness on responsible living and traveling among tourists, local community, and students.


Program Requirements

Program Requirements

Volunteers must be 18 years or older at the time of joining the project. You need to have an open mind and a flexible attitude for working in a new and different environment. The volunteer should bring energy and enthusiasm to make a difference. Participants must be fit and healthy at the time of joining the program. Every volunteer is required to show proof of vaccination of Covid 19,  Hepatitis A & B and doctor’s letter stating that the volunteer is free from Tuberculosis (results have to be dated less than 1 year from project date) prior to joining the program. There will be a Skype interview, and only after selection, your application will be confirmed. In case you are not selected to be a part of the concerned program, a full refund will be provided.


Volunteer Roles & Responsibilities

Volunteer Roles & Responsibilities


As a volunteer at the Conservation Centre, you'll have to carry out the following tasks:

Animal Husbandry - This involves cleaning the cages and feeding the bears. You will rotate working with different sun bears depending on the needs of the bears. You may not work with sun bears on a daily basis. Some daily maintenance work such as general maintenance (eg: painting) may be included.

Enrichment - The idea of enrichment is to stimulate the animals and improve their living conditions as much as possible, in order to provide them with something closer to their natural habitat. Volunteers will be involved in designing & preparing the enrichment procedures. The effectiveness of the enrichment items on animal's behavior will then be observed.

Construction - As a volunteer, you may be asked to design and work on small construction projects to improve the night dens/enclosures of selected animals. This may include assisting in building new exhibits and extensions to improve the conservation center facilities or improving existing exhibits by adding furniture/painting.

Education - There is an education centre and library at Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre. Volunteers may be asked to talk to school children and visitors at the centre about sun bears, and how to conserve them. You may also be asked to prepare displays and update the blogs or do data entry of the Bear Behaviour Record & the Weekly Record.

Note: Not all activities will be included on your itinerary. Changes to the activities will occur subject to weather conditions, school calendar, community and project requirements.


Schedule

Itinerary

Day 1 - Arrival at Sandakan Airport and transfer to accommodation. Meet all your fellow volunteers during the Welcome dinner. A short Briefing Session will be held on this day.

Day 2 - Transfer to Borneo Sun Bear Conservation Centre. Orientation Session, details about the place, safety tour of the center.

Day 3 to Day 13 - Project work at the Center. Work hours: From 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM (with a lunch break in between).
You’ll be free on the weekends, to explore by yourself!

Day 14 - Check out and transfer to Sandakan Airport.


Living

Living

Airport Transfers

The nearest airport to the project is Sandakan Airport (SDK), which is a domestic airport. Hence, you'll have to book your flights to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA/KLIA2) or Kota Kinabalu International Airport, and then take another flight to Sandakan Airport.

Accurate flight details (flight number, airline, departure city, time of departure and arrival) are crucial to ensure pick up at the correct time. 

Make sure that your flight arrives before 4:00 PM on the arrival date, and on the departure date, book a flight that departs after 11:00 AM from Sandakan Airport.

Accommodation

You'll be provided with dorm-style accommodation, where you need to share a room with 2 others, mostly based on the same-gender basis. There are shared warm water showers and toilets. A communal kitchen and basic cooking facilities are available. The washing machine is also available.

Note: Single Room subject to availability - please let us know beforehand, in case you want a private room for yourself.

Meals

Meal allowances will be provided to all the volunteers working for this project.

Orientation

There will be a detailed Program Orientation, that’ll enable you to know more about the conservation center and what kind of work is carried out there. You’ll also be guided and instructed on the ways in which you need to act and how you can provide your best services while being a part of this project. Our coordinators will be available 24/7, to offer any sort of assistance that you may require.

During your Free Time

During your free time, you can head out and explore Borneo’s wilderness and spend some time hiking through the jungles. Over the weekends, you can plan a trek to Kota Kinabalu and feel the eeriness of the rainforests.


Dates

Dates

2024

2025

January

05

February

05

March

05

April

05

May

05

June

05

July

05

August

05

September

05

October

05

November

05

December

05

January

05

February

05

March

05

April

05

May

05

June

05

July

05

August

05

September

05

October

05

November

05

December

Past Date

Available

Unavailable

Filling Fast


Costs

Costs

2 Weeks £1085

Please Note: -An application fee of £179 is charged over and above the program fee as an application payment.

What are you Paying for?

  • Pre Departure Information and Support
  • All facilities and equipment for work at the zoo
  • Conservation contribution to the project
  • 4 work T-shirts
  • All activities, tools & materials included in “Project Days"
  • Induction & orientation at Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre
  • 13 nights at designated shared accommodation
  • Meet & greet at Sandakan Airport (SDK), Malaysia
  • Arrival transfer from Sandakan Airport to project accommodation
  • Transfer from dormitory to project site accommodation
  • Departure transfer to Sandakan Airport in Sabah, Malaysia
  • Welcome dinner on arrival day in Sepilok
  • Meal allowance for all Project Days as indicated on itinerary / self-catering with basic cooking facilities provided
  • Certificate Of Completion (Upon Request)

What's NOT included?

  • International Airfare
  • Visa Fees
  • Vaccinations
  • Medical & Travel Insurance
  • Any single supplement accommodation charges
  • Meals and accommodation when travelling independently or on off Days
  • Personal expenses

Reviews

Reviews

Apply Now Ask a Question

Frequently asked questions

FAQ's Application and Program Details

Flights and Visa

Health and Safety

Accommodation and Living

Still have Questions?

We're always here to help.

Get in touch whatever way works best for you.